How Living in the Moment will Change Your Life

I frequently find myself living life in either rewind or fast-forward. Sometimes simultaneously, which creates a truly frantic scene.  Perhaps you can relate. Whether reminiscing of the good ol’ days, reliving the epic event from last week, or anticipating the adventure of tomorrow, the present becomes obscured.

Have I inadvertently become a bystander by watching my life through an awkward combination of trailers and documentaries? What happened to this moment? Right now?

A series of recent adventures and uncertainties challenged me to be fully present. To stop gazing at the past and fretting over the future. To enjoy each minute as it came. To trust God fully.

Image

Simple moments, like basking in the sunshine on a walk to the train, listening to a street band, or watching pedestrians from inside a corner café, don’t have to be boring elements of a bigger story. They could be delightful experiences themselves. But how?

“Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise, sensible, intelligent people, making the very most of the time, buying up each opportunity, because the days are evil.” (Ephesians 5:15-16)

Seize the moment. This moment. Resist the urge to constantly rush to the next milestone. Enjoy what God has given right now. He daily loads us with benefits. Have we taken time today to soak up His perpetual goodness?

Living in the moment reduces worry and consequently increases our faith. It is impossible to both delight in the abundance of God’s faithfulness this moment and agonize over the uncertainty of tomorrow.

Living in the moment fosters gratitude. We are more apt to see the goodness and mercy of God (and thank Him for it) when we pause to notice the details of now. Maybe it’s the last available parking space we’re able to snag, a gracious smile from the cashier, some goofy time with family, a brief moment of absolute silence, or fresh air.

Living in the moment creates enjoyment. People who worry less, trust more, and are prone to gratefulness have more fun. True story. Incidentally, they are also more enjoyable to be around.

Should we still make plans and set goals? Absolutely. But don’t allow future plans to overshadow the opportunity to live each moment to the fullest.

It is interesting to note throughout Scripture how although God eternally is, was, and will be, He chose to introduce Himself over and over again as I AM, the ever-present Lord. Here are just a few references.

 “I AM your shield, your exceedingly great reward.” (Gen. 15:1)

I AM Almighty God; walk before Me and be blameless.” (Gen. 17:1)

I AM the God of your father Abraham; do not fear, for I AM with you.” (Gen. 26:24)

I AM who I AM.” (Ex. 3:14)

I AM the Lord, your Holy One, the Creator of Israel, your King.” (Is. 43:15)

I AM the Lord, and there is no other; there is no God besides Me.” (Is. 45:5)

“Then I will give them a heart to know Me, that I AM the Lord…” (Jer. 24:7)

“Behold, I AM the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me?” (Jer. 32:27)

“Moreover I also gave them My Sabbaths, to be a sign between them and Me, that they might know that I AM the Lord who sanctifies them.” (Ez. 20:12)

“For I AM God, and not man, the Holy One in your midst…” (Hos. 11:9)

I AM the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6)

I AM He.” (John 18:5)

I AM Jesus, whom you are persecuting….” (Acts 9:5)

I AM the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End,” says the Lord, “who is and was and who is to come, the Almighty.” (Rev. 1:8)

I AM the Root and the Offspring of David, the Bright and Morning Star.” (Rev. 22:16)

“Surely, I AM coming quickly.” (Rev. 22:20)

Will you take the challenge with me to live in the moment? To grasp the present? To know and walk with the I AM right now?

What moment-by-moment opportunities are you buying up today? (Please share in the comments!)

2 thoughts on “How Living in the Moment will Change Your Life

  1. Laura, found you on Tribe Writers… I’m a newbie-ish. 🙂 Just finishing up the first mod for the first time. Anyway… loved your worldview as you discussed it at the end of 1.9 and just thought we might be kind of kindred-hearted….so stopped over here. Sure enough… 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your heart in this post in particular… I totally, deeply resonate with it. Following you… liking you on FB too.

    • Dana! Delighted to connect with you. Thank you for dropping by… I also stopped by your blog and thoroughly enjoyed reading some of your posts. What a tremendous testimony you have! 🙂

      Thanks for following and liking on FB!

Leave a Reply

